Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Johnson County School Board honors service of late Bill Gambill at June meeting

Brenda Gambill 6-15-2016
Johnson County School Board Chairman Kevin Long presents a plaque to Brenda Gambill in memory of her late husband, long time board member Bill Gambill.

By Bonnie Guy

June’s Johnson County School Board Meeting came into session with the visible absence of beloved member Bill Gambill. His nameplate and flowers occupied his place at the board’s table. Gambill was first elected to the Johnson County School Board in August 1994. He faithfully served for some 22 years until his recent passing. The board, including Chairman Kevin Long and Director of Schools Dr. Michelle Simcox presented Brenda Gambill with a plaque honoring her late husband’s service to the board and the county. Also in attendance were several generations of Gambill’s family. Perhaps one of the greatest testaments to “Mr. Bill’s” legacy was when his young grandson stood and participated in the pledge of allegiance in a strong, clear voice.
Next on the agenda was the recognition of nine retirees. These included: Diane Bauguess, who retired after teaching at both Laurel and Doe elementary for the last 22 years; Kathy Greever with 23 years of service teaching eighth grade English, high school English and adult education; Kim Kittle, beloved by 35 years of students at Johnson County High School; Charles Lentz, a former Mountain City Elementary music teacher and principal at Laurel elementary, and Diane Pennington, A third grade teacher at Mountain City Elementary with 28 years of service and Janet Reece with 39 years as kindergarten teacher at Mountain City Elementary.  Also honored were Linda Davis, custodian at Johnson County High; James Forester with the maintenance department, and Nancy Forrester, a Shady Valley bus driver for the past 35 years. Simcox thanked them all for their years of service and dedication and presented service plaques to each.  She also pointed out to the board that with these nine retirees they would be losing 247 years of service and experience.
William Sutherland was up next to deliver his final report as student school board representative. Sutherland congratulated Chase McGlamery for being selected as the upcoming junior student board member as well as Marley Eggers, who will be this year’s student board representative. According to Sutherland, both were outstanding students who had unlimited potential. He went on to say that he wanted to express his sincere gratitude to each of the board members. “Serving as the student board member has been a great experience and opportunity” said Sutherland. Simcox and the board presented Sutherland will a service plaque for his efforts as student board representative. Simcox recommended educator Laura Beard from Doe elementary for tenure. After hearing a glowing report from Simcox about Beard, the board unanimously voted for granting tenure.
For the rest of the article, pick up a copy of this week’s Tomahawk.