Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

JCHS Longhorns dominate All-Conference football team; Nathan Arnold Co-Player of the Year

Nathan Arnold Co-Player of the Year

By Tim Chambers

Johnson County won the first ever Mountain Six Conference title going undefeated during the regular season en route to its school record 11-1 mark. The Longhorns were rewarded for their efforts by placing eight players on the first team in addition to co-players of the year on offense and defense and one on the All Academic squad.
Don Kerley was selected as Coach of the Year after leading his team to the second round of the TSSAA 3A playoffs.
Nathan Arnold was tabbed as Co-Player of the Year along with Wes Greene’s Julian Lane.
The senior signal caller completed 152-of-245 passes for 2112 and 22 touchdowns and only six interceptions.
Lane rushed for 741 yards, and added 661 yards receiving. He also logged eight interceptions.
Osborne compiled 155 tackles in 12 games with 14, sacks and 13 tackles for losses.
Shane Greer joins them on the first team as a wide receiver. Greer caught 55 passes for 1102 yards, averaging 20 yards per reception.
Gage Hampton gets a spot on the team. The senior running back scored 122 points and rushed for 773 yards.
Versatile back Bud Icenhour was tabbed on the first team after compiling over 1000 all-purpose yards that included rushing, receiving, kickoff returns and punt returns.
A six-pack of defensive players join Osborne on the elite squad.
Osborne was voted Defensive Co-Player of the year after racking up 159 tackles, 14 sacks and 11 for losses.
Linebackers Tyler Norris and R.J Snyder earn a spot on the first team. Norris ended the year with 133 tackles and 11 sacks. Snyder collected 108 tackles and five sacks.
Jordan Edes-King gets a much deserved spot after splitting time on offense and defense. He finished the year with nine sacks and 91 tackles.
Nathan Lane and Zach Eller rounded out all the Longhorns on the first team. Lane logged 75 tackles and had seven interceptions. Eller was in on 63 stops, had five interceptions and averaged 29 yards per kickoff return.
Nate Shepherd earned a spot after being selected to the All Academic team.
A dozen Longhorns were tabbed to the second team. Those included Will Kerley, Cameron Clawson, Troy Arnold, Cayden Arnold, Jimmy Bower, Josh Herman, Tristan Dishman, Hunter Wright, Sam Kerley, A.J. Eller, Dylan Shepherd and Jared Kimble.
The team was selected by the league’s opposing coaches.
2017 Mountain Six
All-Conference Team

Co-Players of the Year:
Nathan Arnold (JC) and Julian Lane (WG)
Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Hayden Osborne (JC) and Lukas Neely (Claiborne Co)
Offensive Player of the Year: Brett Strother, UC
Defensive Lineman of the Year: Devin Jennings, Chuckey-Doak
Offensive Lineman of the Year: Nicolas Galanos
Specialist of the Year: Manuel Kattau
Newcomer of the Year: Alick Daughtery, WG
Coach of the Year: Don Kerley (JC)

First Team
Johnson County: Jordan Edes-King, Zach Eller, Shane Greer, Bud Icenhour, Gage Hampton, Nathan Lane, Tyler Norris , RJ Snyder

West Greene: Kyler Clowers, Adrian Espinoza, Brian McCrary, Johnathan Short, Noah Carson, Kaleb Sciarra, Justin Cantrell
Unicoi County: Owen Nicholson, Michael Smith, Matthew Hatcher, Kody Lewis, Roby Lemmon, Shane Armstrong

Claiborne County: Matt Cupp, Elijah Beason, Haydn Hollin, Eli Stone, Tyler Napier

Chuckey-Doak: Conner Smith, Trevor Grubbs, Peyton Fletcher, Nicholas Jennings

North Greene: Radley Frazler, Matt Priolo, Austin Kovacs