Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Four champions crowned in Johnson County Youth Tourney

By Tim Chambers

The Johnson County Youth Basketball League came to a close on Saturday with four championship games being played. Three took place inside of Ray Shoun Gymnasium while Roan Creek Elementary School hosted the C-Division title.

C-Division Championship
Mountain City #2 (20)
Mountain City #4 (7)
The biscuits and gravy hadn’t had time to settle when MC 2 and MC 4 took the court. The early bird special was played at Roan Creek Elementary due to the need of nine-foot goals.
MC #2 rode the play of Carter Atwood to a first place finish and won easily 20-7.
He staked his team to an 8-0 lead by sinking four field goals in the first period.
Hunter Paisley got MC #4 on the board in the second period scoring three points, but Atwood hit a couple of shots to make it 12 -3 at halftime.
Atwood scored MC 2’s first 14 points before Dylan Reece hit for two in the fourth quarter.
Atwood ended the game with 16 while Reece had the other four.
Paisley tallied six points for MC #4. Eli Stamper had the other point.
Atwood and Paisley were awarded MVP for their respective teams. Gage Grissom was all conference for MC #2 while Rylee Henson gathered that honor for MC #4.
MC #2 finished the season undefeated in league and tournament play.

B-Division Championship
Mountain City #2 (19)
Mountain City #4 (16)
The first upset of the day was pulled off by Mountain City #2. They overcame a 13-7 halftime deficit to knock off league champion Mountain City #4 by the score of 19-16.
Jace Stout, Noah Brown and Ethan Ward all had baskets in the first quarter helping MC #4 take a 7-3 lead.
Andrew Long had MC#2’s only field goal.
MC #2 tried to edge closer on a bucket by Kaden Blevins to start the second quarter but two baskets by Stout and one from Noah Brown offset that.
Carson Jennings had a late basket for MC #2, but they trailed at halftime 13-7. They slowly began to chip away at what once was an eight-point deficit.
MC #4’s only basket in the third period came from Dylan Warren. Carson Jennings scored three points for MC #2 who trailed 15-11 going into the final quarter.
That’s when MC #2 made its move.
Back-to-back baskets by Carter Rhudy and Jennings tied the game at 16 all. Derek Baird’s bucket gave MC #2 a two-point lead in the final minute. Long added a free throw to seal the deal.
Jennings led MC #2 in scoring with seven. Baird added five, Long scored three with Rhudy and Blevins collecting two apiece.
Stout topped MC #4 with seven points. Brown tossed in four and Warren provided three. Ethan Ward closed out their scoring with two points.
Baird and Stout were tabbed as the MVP’s for their teams Jennings and Warren were selected to the All Conference team.

Girls Championship
Mountain City #1 (30)
Roan Creek #2 (23)
The girls from Roan Creek put up a good fight, but MC #1 was too strong in the end.
MC #1 jumped on top 10-2 in the first quarter, getting six points from Peyton Gentry and four by Braden Eastridge.
Roan Creek battled back to pull within one in the second quarter. Brookanna Hutchins had five points that helped cut the lead at 12-11. Gentry’s basket in the final seconds gave MC #1 a 14-11 halftime advantage.
MC #1 extended their advantage to 20-13 in the third quarter on a pair of buckets by Gentry and one from Eastridge.
Autumn Lewis and Amy Gunter had two huge buckets that got Roan Creek back within three at 20-17 going into the final period.
MC #1 got a huge lift from Chloe Bryant in the fourth stanza. She tallied eight points which included a pair of baseline jumpers and two putbacks. Roan Creek cut the lead to one twice in the quarter, but each time Bryant answered the call with a basket.
Gentry scored a game high 14 points for MC #1. Eastridge and Bryant provided eight apiece.
Lewis topped Roan Creek #2 with 10 points. Hutchins added seven points, Gunter tossed in four and Warren tallied two.
Hutching was selected as the MVP for Roan Creek with Lewis making All Conference.
Gentry was the MVP on MC #1 championship squad. Sierra Green was tabbed as All Conference.

A-Division Championship
Doe #1 (47)
Mountain City #1 (32)
Undefeated Doe fell behind early but rallied back to earn a 15-point victory.
Austin West connected on a pair of treys to get Doe going in the first quarter, but MC #1 was a bit better.
Five points by George Grill including a trey and Peyton Pavusek’s bucket put MC #1 in front 11-6.
Doe trailed 13-10 after one but found its offense in the second quarter.
Conner Pierce blistered the nets for nine points including a trey at the buzzer helping Doe to a 29-19 halftime advantage.
Doe continued to expand their lead in the third quarter. Caleb Pierce scored six points, getting a pair of nice feeds from Graham Reece. And they continued to do damage in the final period. Doe’s lead soared to 45-21 midway through the fourth quarter but MC #1 went on a 11-2 run to end the game.
Conner Pierce led Doe with a game high 17 points. Caleb Pierce added 14 and West tallied 12. Reece scored two points but played a great floor game with six assists. Sebastian Adams closed out their scoring with a deuce.
George Grill and Pavusek had nine points each for MC. Chris Grill added six, Gaylen Dugger four and Evan Dollar and Daniel Stout had two apiece.
Graham Reece was selected as Doe’s MVP while Caleb Pierce was tabbed as All Conference.
Grill earned MVP honors for MC #1. Pavusek was tabbed for All Conference.