Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

All Johnson/Carter Girls’ basketball team

Tomahawk Sports

It was a more difficult task of trying to put together an All Johnson/Carter County girls’ elite team for the 2018-19 season and couldn’t break the tie when it came to selecting player-of-the-year honors on the girl’s side. Unaka’s Myah Parlier and Elizabethton’s Kayleen Shell both performed admirably and will share the award.
Parlier averaged a double-double as the Lady Rangers leading scorer and rebounder. Shell was Elizabethton’s leading scorer and filled the stat charts in rebounds and assists.
Both players caused the Longhorns problems during the season.
Parlier tossed in 33 points in a loss to Johnson County while Shell hit the game-winning bucket in overtime against the Lady Longhorns.
Cloudland’s senior standout Trinity Vines was voted defensive player of the year and averaged nearly a double-double while leading them deep into the regional tournament.
Johnson County’s, Taylor Cox, Happy Valley’s Adrienne Henegar, and Hampton’s Stephanie Campbell were unanimous choices to the first team.
Cox rang up nearly 15 points per game and was also one of the team’s leading rebounders. Henegar put up 16 points per contest and was the Three Rivers Conference’s leading three-point shooter.
Campbell put up 16 points per game and was deadly from behind the 3-point arc leading her conference in that department.
Elizabethton’s Morgan Headrick, Cloudland’s Stachia Wilson, Happy Valley’s Sha Whitson, Johnson County’s Emmy Miller, and Unaka’s Savannah Tipton round out this year’s squad.
Headrick was the Cyclones leading rebounder and second-leading scorer at nearly 12 points per game. Wilson averaged 13 points and six rebounds for the Highlanders while Whitson was at 11 points and eight rebounds per contest for the Lady Warriors. Tipton put up 11 points and seven rebounds per game.
Miller edged out teammate Taylor Parsons for the final spot on the team after averaging over nine points per contest and eight rebounds.
Parsons missed the final three weeks of the season due to sickness.
Sadie Stout of Johnson County was named on all
ballots as the top underclassman.
Cloudland’s retiring head coach Mike Lunsford was selected as coach of the year.