The Tennessee Firearms Association confirms through the Department of Safety that 8 states that did accept Tennessee’s handgun permits for reciprocity no longer do or accept only some of them.
Tennessee changed its law effective January 1, 2017, so that a small number of individuals 18-20 years old can apply for civilian handgun permits. That small group is, for reasons not entirely clear as a matter of constitutional analysis, limited to those individuals who are in or retired from the military.
• Delaware, as of September 23, 2017, they will no longer recognize non-resident Tennessee permits.
• Florida will not honor permits issued to 18-20 year olds or non-resident Tennessee permit holders
• Nebraska will not honor 18-20 year old permits.
• North Dakota will not honor permits issued to 18-20 year olds
• Washington will no longer honor Tennessee permits.
• West Virginia will not honor permits issued to 18-20 year olds or non-resident permits.
• Wisconsin will not honor 18-20 year old permits.