Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

School Board changes venue to meet state disability laws

By Teresa Cunningham
The Johnson County School Board held its monthly meeting on Thursday, May 8, 2014 in a new location. Due to handicapped inaccessibility issues, the venue was changed to the ground level of the Johnson County Office Building from the second story office where the board had met for many years.
After the meeting was called to order, Nancy Bailey addressed the school board regarding communication after school hours. She asked the board to look into a way to communicate with teachers and / or principals after the school day has ended in the evening hours. She explained to the board members this was needed due to issues that may come up during the school day with students and discussed with parents or legal guardians once students arrive home for the day. Director of Schools Morris Woodring, board member Howard Carlton, and Technology Coordinator Robert Sutherland discussed the possibilities of email usage, contacting the Johnson County Schools Central Office, and utilizing features from the current phone program in place in all the schools to possibly address this concern.
The board members moved to approve the consent agenda and Blake Robinson, student board member, gave the following report:
“As the school year comes to a close, I am happy to inform you that there are 151,200 seconds of school left. Currently JCHS is in the process of taking both the Advanced Placement exams as well as the End of Course tests. A total of 84 AP tests will be taken by the students this year at the high school. FFA held its 38th annual banquet on Friday, May 2nd. The banquet was a success and the 2014-2015 FFA officers were installed for their year of service. The ag teachers would like to thank everyone who came out. Yearbooks will be distributed on May 14th with a yearbook signing following distribution. Also summer school will be held from May 21st to May 27th. Finally, graduation is on May 17th at 10:00 with 142 graduates receiving diplomas.
“The next item on the agenda was the approval from Skyward for the POS software for the cafeterias and central office food service. Skyward was able to secure the bid due to their low price. This program will be used to manage food service data and student breakfast and lunch data for the 2014-2015 school years. The board members also reviewed Policy Section 1- Board Operations briefly and moved on to approve the Johnson County Internal School Funds Financial Report. This report is an annual report detailing the financial procedures and record keeping status of each school and Central Office. It is generated through the financial auditors, Lewis and Associates each year for the school system. In closing, Finance Director Tina Lipford, informed the board of recent items from the budget update regarding revenue and expenditures for the school year.
“The year is almost to a close and graduation seals the deal. The 2014 Baccalaureate Service will be held on May 15, 2014 at 7:00 p.m. at First Presbyterian Church. The 2014 graduating class of Johnson County High School will turn those tassels on Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 10:00 a.m. The ceremony will be held at the Johnson County High School. The official last day of the 2013-2014 school year will be Monday, May 19, 2014 as schools will dismiss at 11:30 a.m.”
Bryan Potter-Custodian for Johnson County Schools, effective May 5, 2014
Summer food service program- Betsy Casey, Lois Farley, April Lipford, Patty Roberts, Alma Poteet, Ramona Shatley, Mary Slemp, Susan Taylor, Tammy Thomas, Diana Wagner, Sharon Wallace, and Kathy Crowder, manager.
Jewel Hamm- Adult Education Supervisor for Johnson and Carter County, effective June 30, 2014
Melissa Hutchinson- Supplementary Assistant for Doe Elementary School, effective April 14, 2014
Patricia Grindstaff- Bus driver for Johnson County Schools, effective March 28, 2014