Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

School Board approves use of facilities for Youth Basketball League

By Rebecca Herman
On Thursday, October 8 the Johnson County Board of Education met for their regularly scheduled meeting. Chairman Kevin Long asked the board to begin with the recognition of visitors or delegations and audience participation.
Jamie Roberts, who represents Johnson County Youth League Basketball, came before the board to discuss the youth basketball teams and the use of facilities.
“Thank you for your support and use of the facilities. We had a very successful year with no problems. It is the smoothest year we’ve seen,” said Roberts.
Roberts explained that there are two representatives from each school and that those volunteers are staying in place for this upcoming basketball season. Roberts explained that the games and practices take place at four elementary schools: Doe, Mountain City, Laurel, and Roan Creek.
Board member Howard Carlton told Roberts that the youth basketball league’s finances and fundraisers needed to be looked at by school finance director, Tina Lipford, and Director of Schools Mischelle Simcox. Roberts said that he would provide that documentation and then added, “So far, no fundraisers have needed to be done because the community has always been so supportive of youth basketball league, but if one needs to be done in the future, we will definitely complete any paperwork that is required.”
Another suggestion was made by board member Kenneth Gregg, who said that the league should consider selling season passes. Roberts said that it had been suggested in the past, but has not been done up to this point. Roberts said he would bring it up to youth league board members at their next meeting. The board approved the use of facilities for the Johnson County Youth Basketball League. Any school-aged children who are interested in joining the youth league basketball team can contact Roberts at Farm Bureau. The first practice will begin in November.
One mother addressed the board with concerns over her son’s classroom absences due to being assigned In-School-Suspension (ISS) for acting inappropriately during a volleyball game. Edna Miller, principal at Johnson County Middle School, assured the mother that the student was counted as present on his official attendance record.
The next item on the agenda was the recognition of the employee of the month. Lily Webster from Laurel Elementary was chosen for October. “Lil encourages students to always do their best. She is a positive influence on our students. Lily is always willing to help anyone without complaint.”
Dr. Simcox then recognized the students who received the highest score on the TCAP from Laurel Elementary. From the third grade: Josh Lowe, Math; Kailahni Webster, Reading; and Tristan Dunn, Science, fourth grade: Aleena Summerow, Math and Science; Christopher Williams, Reading; Ashton Keith, Science and fifth grade: McGregor Barnhill, Math, Reading, and Science.
Dr. Simcox also recognized the most improved students on the TCAP, third grade: Josh Lowe, Reading and Math; fourth grade: Dakota Matheson, Math; James Barnhill, Reading and Science, Lexi Thomas, Reading; fifth grade: Melissa Eastridge, Math and reading; and fifth grade: Brandy Greer, Science.
Next on the agenda was appointing a new vice-chair to replace former board member Brad Dunn. The board chose Kenneth Gregg to fill this role. Dr. Simcox also announced that the County Commission would be appointing a new board member next week.
For the rest of the story, pick up a copy of this week's Tomahawk.