Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Many incumbants retain their seats

The following information, received from the Johnson County Election Commission, is a summary of the 2014 state primary and general county election.   There are 10 precincts in the county, and each of the counties has sent their final report. There were 5,497 voters in Johnson County, a voter turnout of 49.96 percent. On Election Day, 1,891 Johnson Countians cast their ballots. There were 3,606 voters who took advantage of absentee and early voting. “The turnout for election day was lower than expected,” said Johnson County Administrator of Elections, Mike Long. While the final reports are in, the results be reviewed again and certified.
In the Johnson County election, Larry Potter won by 42.38 percent with 2,268 votes.  “Thanks to everyone for your support and votes in my re-election,” said Potter. “I am humbled and honored to once again serve as your county mayor.” In second place was Freddy Phipps, who claimed 35.15 percent with 1,881 votes. In third place was Donald Snyder, who received 828 votes at 15.47 percent and Katherine Lynn Wright received 371 votes, taking 6.93 percent of the votes.  There were four write-in votes.
For the office of County Trustee, Lisa Johnson Crowder was the winner, receiving 28.37 percent of the total votes for the position with 1,491 votes.  In second place was Melissa Gentry Eller who claimed 1,123 votes at 21.37percent, followed by Rachel Rash Crosswhite who received 917 votes at 17.45 percent. Michael Carl Trivette took 806 votes at 15.33 percent, followed by Brian S. Taylor with 771 votes and 14.87 percent of the votes. Robert Michael Roark received 147 votes at 2.80 percent.  There was one write in for this office.
Incumbent William Bliss Hawkins was re-elected as General Sessions and Juvenile Court Judge with 39.53 percent of the vote with 2,067 votes.  He was followed by Perry Lee Stout who received 37.67 percent of the vote at 1,970 votes. Randy Fallin received 22.72 percent of the vote with 1,188 votes.  There were four votes for a write in candidate.
Sheriff Mike Reece was re-elected, taking 32.50 percent of ballots cast for this office for a total of 1,751 votes, making this his third term, the first since four-year terms began in the county. It is believed that this is the first time a sheriff was elected for a third run in approximately 50 years. “I would like to thank everyone who voted for me for all the support I have received,” said Reece. “I enjoy being your sheriff and I will always do the best job for that I possibly can.” Johnny Roberts came in second claiming 1,652 votes and 30.66 percent.  Edward Hoak came in third with 1,265 votes at 23.48 percent of the votes for this office, followed by Ken Lane who received 518 votes at 9.61 percent and Jody Putnam, who received 201 votes at 3.73 percent. There was one write-in who received one vote.
Melissa Hollaway is the new Circuit Court Clerk, receiving 45.13 percent of the vote with 2,324 votes. Jerry W. Gentry came in second, taking 1,683 votes at 32.69 percent with Joey R. Norris in third, receiving 22.14 percent of the votes for a total of 1,140 votes. There were three votes cast for a write-in candidate.
Incumbent Tammie C. Fenner retained her position as County Clerk, receiving 52.47 percent of the vote with 2,795 votes. “I am humbled by the great number of votes,” said Fenner. “I appreciate the confidence the citizens have in me to serve another four years.”
Megan Swift Gentry came in second, taking 1,271 votes, a 23.86 percent, followed by Pat Grindstaff who received 1,259 votes at 23.63 percent.  There were two votes for a write-in candidate.
Freida May Dugger is the new Register of Deeds.  She received 45.06 percent of the vote for a total of 2,344 votes.  John Brookshire came in second, receiving 1,054 votes for a total of 20.25 percent. Jonathan Pleasant came in third, claiming 760 votes for a total of 14.61 percent, followed by Patsy C. Laws with 601 votes and 11.55 percent and Veneda K. Roark with 443 votes at 8.52 percent.
Darrell Reece is the new Road Superintendant.  He received 1,682 votes at 31.74 percent, followed by Jim Moody, receiving 27.74 percent with 1,470 votes.  Blake Stout followed closely in third place, receiving 27.34 percent and 1,449 votes.  Rick Curd received 698 votes at 13.17 percent.  

To read the entire article, pick up a copy of this week's Tomahawk.