Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

ETSU awards Boyd S. Ray Memorial Scholarships

Jonathan Arnold

JOHNSON CITY – East Tennessee State University has awarded the Boyd S. Ray Memorial Scholarship to students from Johnson County. This $1,000 scholarship is awarded to undergraduate or graduate ETSU students who are graduates of Johnson County High School (JCHS) and hold a minimum grade point average of 3.0.  Recipients include Jonathan Arnold and Haley B. Greene.

Arnold played baseball for four years at JCHS, where he was involved in the National Honor Society, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Educational Talent Search, Skills USA and Lifetime Sports.  His interests include ethics and leadership, and he is a member of Southside Baptist Church.  The ETSU freshman plans to major in business and pursue a career in accounting.  He is the grandson of Ernest and Judy Roark, Laurel Bloomery. Greene, a freshman at ETSU, was a Presidential Academic Excellence Award winner and member of National Honor Society and HOSA during her time at JCHS.  She is the daughter of Cristie and Thomas Brown, Mountain City, and the late Frederick Z. Greene.