Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Chamber awards dinner recognizes outstanding community members

By Lindsey Campbell
The Chamber of Commerce held its annual Awards Dinner at the Red Tail Golf Club on Saturday. Guests included many county officials, members of the Chamber as well as family and friends of the recipients of awards.
Chamber President Tom Reece welcomed all the guests and acknowledged the veterans in the room.
The first awards of the night were presented by Karla Prudhomme as she introduced the 2012 Leadership Class. From the podium, Prudhomme said the class is a “national and statewide program that targets people with potential to be great community leaders.”
People enrolled in the class have an opportunity to learn about the county’s past, visit places around the county, and develop a project that would make Johnson County a better place.
The 2012 Leadership Class President, Cliff Mahala, presented the class’ project. Their project was to revitalize Downtown Main Street to attract more businesses and shoppers.
Recipients of certificates for completion of the class included Shannon Clark, Robert Sutherland, Angie Sutherland, Dawn Roberts, Cliff Mahala, Linda Keeble, Deidre Burgess, Sean Klukan, and Craig Jennings.
After dinner was served, the awards dinner continued with the presentation of the Mac Wright Citizen of the Year Award presented by Lindsey DeBord. DeBord said from the podium that it thrilled her to give the award to the citizen of the year, her dad, Willie Debord.
Following DeBord was Nancy Drake who presented the Business of the Year Award. Bud Reece, owner of Family Prescription, accepted the award and was quick to thank his faithful employees and customers. Drake said their “loyalty and commitment by going the extra mile” made Family Prescription worthy of this award.
The Mary Ahrends Volunteer of the Year Award was presented by Chamber President Tom Reece. Roger Espinoza was the recipient of this award. Reece noted the dedication and countless number of volunteer hours that Espinoza has dedicated to the people of Johnson County.
Frank Arnold came up to present a special acknowledgement plaque to honor John Etheridge for all his years of work to this county. Etheridge passed away earlier this year.
To read the complete story, pick up a copy of this week's Tomahawk.