Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Candidates throw their hats into the ring for election

Qualified candidates for the August 4, 2016 Tennessee state primary and county general election, along with qualified independent candidates for the November 8, 2016 federal general and state election, needed to file required papers to be placed on the August county election ballot by April 7, 2016 at noon. Johnson County is included in Tennessee State Senate District four.  The county falls under Tennessee House of Representatives District three.
The following have thrown their hat into the ring for state senate:  John Paul Blevins, Neal Kerney, Jon Lundburg and Tony Shipley.  All four candidates are Republicans.  Timothy Hill and Gary Kawula are running for Tennessee State House of Representatives.  Hill is running on the Republican ticket and Kawula is an Independent.
Matthew Jerry Johnson, Stewart A. Taylor and Jack Young have submitted the necessary paper work to be considered for Tennessee Republican State Executive Committeeman in District four.
On a local county level, Matthew Lewis and Michael C. Trivette are running for the office of Assessor of Property. Bill Gambill, Mike Payne, Jo Ann Matheson Reece and Charlie Thompson are running for the two open seats on the Johnson County School Boards in District Two.
The deadline to withdraw names from the ballot is April 14, 2016 by noon.