Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Campbell wins Republican primary; Potter County Mayor

The courthouse lawn was packed this past Thursday evening as local Johnson Countians came out in large numbers to be present for the announcement of the winners of the local elections. As the close of the polls drew near and voting results would soon be known, the air was filled with anticipation as voters waited to see if their favorite candidates would indeed win.
Larry Potter was elected the new mayor of Johnson County, winning with 28 percent of the vote. Potter beat Jerry Jordan by a mere 49 votes. Jordan was in the lead for much of the evening until the final totals were posted. Ten hopefuls ran for the office of mayor. Potter will serve a four-year term.
Incumbent Mike Reece was reelected as Johnson County’s sheriff for another four-year term, receiving 40 percent of the vote. Reece beat Roger Gentry, a former Johnson County sheriff, with a 399 vote lead.
“I’m pleased that I won,” said Potter in a post-election interview. “We ran a good race.” Potter acknowledged that here in Johnson County, as across the country, employment is on the minds of everyone. “Tourism can and will have to play an important part of our economy,” continued Potter. He plans on utilizing the beauty of the county to the fullest extent possible. “Jobs are always going to be the number one priority,” Potter added. Willing to listen to and receive ideas from everyone, he says, “My door will always be open. It’s not about Larry Potter. “It’s about Johnson County.”
Tammy Fenner was reelected as Johnson County Clerk for another four-year term with 69 percent of the vote, with hopeful Doug McGlamery receiving 31 percent. Incumbent Carolyn Wilson Hawkins was reelected as Circuit Court Clerk, receiving 59 percent of the vote over Patricia Grindstaff with 41 percent. Current Road Superintendent Tony Jennings received 45 percent of the vote followed by Rick Curd with 29 percent and Mack Stout with 26 percent. Sue Hensley, Trustee, and Trish Hartley, Register, both were reelected with no opposition.
In the race for county commissioners, Bill Adams, Jack R. Profitt and Mike Taylor were the winners for the first district. In district two, Lester R. Dunn won over Larry L. Nichols. In the third district, Freddy Phipps, Jerry Grindstaff and Dean L. Stout were all reelected. In the fourth district, Rick Snyder and Jonathan Pleasant are the new commissioners. In the fifth district, Jimmy Lowe, John S. Brookshire and Jerry Gentry were the winners. In the sixth district, Huey L. Long won with 70 percent of the vote. In district seven, Gina Y. Meade was elected to her first term as a commissioner, along with returning Emily G. Millsaps. Norman E. Miller was reelected as Johnson County Constable receiving 45 percent of the vote.
For complete details please pick up your copy of this weeks, The Tomahawk, available at local newsstands today!