Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

4H poultry show chick chain contest

4-H Chick Chain Group
Chick Chain Group (pictured L-R): first row – Katie Timbs, Gracie Hammet, Paola Vargas, Hailey McCoy, Izzy Thompson, Isabell Katsaitis, Hailey Adams, Kloi Hopkins; second row – Cheyenne Pugh, Joshia Arnold, Landon Greene, Isaac Lewis, Kendon Keith, Jasmine KAtsaitis, Jayden Kinble, Sean Trivett; last row- Brady Fritts, Eli Dickens, Braydon Cannon, Logan Gilley, Lanie Mink, and Corbin Presnell; not pictured – Lilly Powell, Rayne Williams, Ansley Clifton and Jackson Clifton. Submitted photo.

The annual 4-H poultry show and sale was held on Saturday, September 1st at the Longhorn Auction Company. This event marks the culmination of another successful 4-H Chick Chain project. The Chick Chain is a traditional 4-H project that allows students to raise chickens from chicks to pullets and eventually laying hens.

Along the way, 4-H’ers learn responsibility, ethical decision making and many other life skills. The project wraps up with 4-H’ers entering their best pullets in the show and competing for the title of the Bill Brookshire Poultry Champion, named after longtime supporter Bill Brookshire of Johnson County Bank. All the pullets entered in the show are auctioned with proceeds going to 4-H to support the continuation of the Chick Chain for many years to come. With 34 participants showing pullets, this year’s competition was tough. Congrats to Kloi Hopkins being named this year’s Bill Brookshire Poultry Champion! Lanie Mink took home reserve champion followed by Izzy Thompson with the 3rd place pullets. Ashton Dollar, Brady Fritts, Isaac Lewis, and Marley Townsend received honorable mention. Thanks to all the 4-H’ers, parents, buyers and volunteers as well as Johnson County Bank, Longhorn Auction Company, Elizabethton Federal and Tri-State Growers Co-Op for supporting the 4-H chick chain project.

Chick Chain Winners
Chick Chain Winners (pictured L-R): Izzy Thompson, Bonnie Reece, Kloi Hopkins, and Lanie Mink. Submitted photo.