Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

2010 Presidentail Academic scholars recognized at banquet

On Monday evening 91 of Johnson County’s sixth, eighth and twelfth grade students were honored for academic excellence as recipients of the Presidential Academic Excellence Award.
“We are extremely proud of these students,” said Morris Woodring, Director of Schools. “This evening is set aside to honor the best of the best in our school system.” President Ronald Reagan began the tradition of recognizing those students who truly excelled and placed themselves in the top tier of the students nationwide. Since that time, every president has continued this tradition and each recipient receives a letter from the President.
The President’s Education Awards Program, sponsored by the U. S. Department of Education, in partnership with the National Association of Elementary School Principals and the National Association of Secondary School Principals, was originally developed to help principals recognize and honor students who achieve high academic goals by hard work and dedication to learning. Participation in the program grows each year and it has evolved into recognizing excellence in academics, but with a noticeable spotlight on excellence in music, visual arts and drama.
The criteria for this achievement includes the attainment of a 3.5 to 4.0 grade point average, no suspensions during the school year, and achievement of test scores in the 85th percentile or higher in either math or reading.
Principals of each respective school presented the student a Presidential Academic Excellence pin and a certificate signed by the President of the United States, the Secretary of Education, and the school principal. The Director of Schools also presented each student a plaque of recognition provided by HANESbrands, Inc., an industrial partner and sponsor of the event.
In addition to the large number of family members and teachers on hand, other invited guests included member of the Johnson County Board of Education, Johnson County Mayor Dick Grayson, Mountain City Mayor Kevin Parsons, Freddie Phipps, Chair of the County Commission, Tennessee State Representative Jason Mumpower, Tennessee Senator Ron Ramsey, – from the State Department of Education, Wiley Roark of Maymead, Inc., and –, current president of the Positive Thinkers Club.
Following the ceremony the students and their families were honored in a reception sponsored by the Positive Thinkers Club, a local civic club, which promotes excellence in academics and fine arts.
Those students receiving the prestigious award this year are as follows:
Doe Elementary – Lindsey Pearl Proffitt, Brianna Hope Snyder, Abbigail Michelle Self
Laurel Elementary – Brena Lenae Blair, Patrick David Sutherland, Tierra Paige Ward
Mountain City Elementary – Cody James Bailie, Crystal Renee Dunn, Kassidy Nichole Foley, Jose Alfredo Guzman, Westley Allen Horne, Joseph Daniel Icenhour, Jayme Ann Jennings, Kevin Robert Moses, Amanda Crystal Potter, Aisia Tiara Robbins, Shawn Alexander Tester, Alexander Mitchell Tressler, Dustin Tyler Viers, Taylor Nicole Wallace
Roan Creek Elementary – Moriah Nicole Franklin, Payton Samuel Fenner, Timothy Ray Holman, Samuel Everett Icenhour, Alexis Hope Little, Sawyer Chance Main, Stephen Billy Meredith, Bobby Dylan Nichols, Lily Grace Osborne, Nicolo Andrea Peraino, Tiffany Marie Price, Takoda Daniel Roark, David Edward Rozier, Jr., Tonya Nicole Smith, Shane Devon Slobecheski, Samuele Austin Wilson
Shady Valley Elementary – Lindsey Lynnae Hutchinson
Johnson County Middle School – John Caleb Aldridge, Caedan Robert Bailey, Justin Scott Baker, Sarah Louise Beckman, Kristen Nicole Branch, Annie Marie Brown, Tayla Grace Clark, Savannah Leighann Cornett, Sydney Beth Crews, Mollie Katherine Crowder, Amber Michelle Davis, David Franklin Eller, Miranda Sue Forrester, Brandon Michael Furches, Randi Brooke Garr, Madison Leann Green, Bradley Wade Greer, Ashlee Nicole Harmon, Brittany Howard, Loren Faith Howell, Alexandra Bea Irick, Brandy Kay Lewis, Evan Joseph Lewis, Tabitha Lynn Livingston, Janel Gabrielle Manuel, Celina Ralyn McFadden, Rachel Alyssa Poteet, Zachary James Price, Bruce Edgar Reece, Brianne Sylvia Roark, Samuel Blake Robinson, Kristy Marie Smith, Peyton James Snyder, Patrick David South, Kenneth Jacob Sutherland, Eden Sage Taylor, Sarah Catherine Tierney, Dalton Brady Timbs, Tyler Franklin Townsend, Kelsey Renee Watson, Elizabeth Carolyn Watson, Hannah Noel Wheeler
Johnson County High School – Lindsey DeEtte DeBord, Stephen Glendon Joiner, Brittany Michelle Sluder, Wade Thomas Tugman, Carli Renae Smith, Patrick Neil Stout, Chelsea Renee Padgham, Katelin Rene Stanley, Aubrey Lane Long, Adam Ezekiel Timbs, Kristen Lynn Greer, Logan Riley Dunn