Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Early voting concludes, Presidential Primary set for March 3

By Jill Penley
Freelance Writer

While early voting for the 2020 presidential preference primary concluded on Tuesday, with over – Johnson Countians casting their ballots, on March 3, “Super Tuesday,” Tennessee will join 13 other states in holding early primaries that can play a significant role in determining party presidential nominees.

To be on the ballot in Tennessee, a candidate had to submit a petition with 2,500 voter signatures by Dec. 3 to Secretary of State. The following candidates will be included on the ballots.

Republican Primary Ballot:
Donald J. Trump
Joe Walsh
Bill Weld

Democratic Primary Ballot:
Michael Bennet
Joseph R. Biden
Michael R. Bloomberg
Cory Booker
Pete Buttigieg
Julián Castro
John K. Delaney
Tulsi Gabbard
Amy Klobuchar
Deval Patrick
Bernie Sanders
Tom Steyer
Elizabeth Warren
Marianne Williamson
Andrew Yang

To see a sample ballot, visit To vote in Tennessee, you must have a valid photo ID card at the poll. The following types of IDs are accepted, even if they are expired:

  • Tennessee driver’s license with your photo U.S. passport
    Photo ID issued by the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security
  • Photo ID issued by the federal or Tennessee state government
    U.S. military photo ID
  • Tennessee handgun carry permit with your photo
  • Photo IDs issued by other states, college student IDs and those issued by counties or cities are not accepted.

It is easier than ever to register to vote. To register online visit One can also download and complete a voter registration application and mail it to the county election commission, pick up a voter registration application in person at the county election commission office, county clerk’s office, public libraries and register of deeds office.

Voter registration is also offered during transactions at the health department (WIC program), Department of Human Services, Department of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, Department of Mental Health, Department of Safety (motor vehicles division) and the Department of Veterans Affairs.