Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Candidates set for November election

I voted sticker

State to elect new governor, choose U.S. congress, senate, Tennessee Representative; Town of Mountain City will fill two alderman seats.

By Jill Penley
Freelance Writer

With political campaigning in full swing, in just a few short weeks Tennesseans will choose a political and governmental leader, as the state and 35 others, will holding an election for governor in 2018. In the August primary, voters chose the Republican and Democratic candidates to face off in November’s general election to succeed Gov. Bill Haslam, a two-term governor who has led the state for the past eight years. Republican Bill Lee and Democrat Karl Dean won their respective party nominations.

Lee, 57, of Williamson County, businessman, chairman and former CEO of Lee Co., a full-service home services, facilities and construction company founded by his grandfather in 1944, defeated five other republican candidates. Former Nashville mayor, Karl Dean, an attorney, will face Lee. He served as mayor of Nashville from 2007 to 2015. Also, on the Nov. 6 ballot will be a U.S. Senate seat, a U.S. House of Representative seat for the first Congressional District, Tennessee House seat to represent the third Tennessee House of Representative District, and a state executive committeeman and committeewoman.

U. S. Senate
Former Tennessee Governor Phil Bredesen handily defeated Gary Davis and John Wolfe in the Democratic primary for U.S. Senator for Tennessee on August 2, 2018. Serving as U.S. Representative from Tennessee’s 7th Congressional District since 2003, Marsha Blackburn defeated Aaron Pettigrew in the Republican primary for U.S. Senator for Tennessee. Prior to her election to the U.S. House, Blackburn served in the Tennessee State Senate.

U.S. House of Representative seat for the first Congressional District
Voters will elect nine candidates to serve in the U.S. House, one from each of the state’s nine congressional districts. Republican Phil Roe, incumbent, is seeking re-election to serve the first Congressional District. Prior to his election to the U.S. House in 2009, Dr. Roe was active in local government having served two years as mayor of Johnson City. Marty Olsen, who ran unopposed in the Democratic primary in August, is facing Roe to represent Tennessee District 1 in U.S. House of Representatives. Dr. Olsen, a professor in the Department of obstetrics and gynecology since 1992, frequently treats pregnant women addicted to opioids. Also seeking the seat and running as an Independent is Michael Salyer, a 1985 Volunteer High School graduate and professional truck driver.

Tennessee House of Representatives District 3
Incumbent Timothy Hill (R) is running unopposed in the general election for Tennessee House of Representatives District 3. Before being elected in 2012, Hill worked as a radio host, an Audio/Visual Director, Press Secretary and Communications Director for Tennessee’s 1st congressional district, and as the founder and owner of his own small business.

Alderman, Town of Mountain City
On a local level, the citizens of the Town of Mountain City will elect two from a field of four to fill alderman seats. The field of four qualified candidates includes incumbent Bud Crosswhite, former Mountain City mayor Lawrence C. Keeble, Robert A. Blackwell, a retired business owner, and Jason Panganiban, former Mountain City Police Officer.

In Tennessee, it is easier than ever to register to vote. To register online visit One can also download and complete a voter registration application and mail it to the county election commission, pick up a voter registration application in person at the county election commission office, county clerk’s office, public libraries and register of deeds office. Voter registration is also offered during transactions at the health department (WIC program), Department of Human Services, Department of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, Department of Mental Health, Department of Safety (motor vehicles division) and the Department of Veterans Affairs.

The deadline to register to vote for the Nov. 6 election is Oct. 9. Early voting is available Oct. 17 through Nov. 1.