Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Atwood tabbed Three-Rivers player of the year

Blake Atwood was voted Three Rivers’ Conference Player of the year by the league coaches.

By Scoop Christian

Johnson County was rewarded for winning a share of the Three Rivers Conference by the coaches at their recent meeting. The Longhorns placed four players on the squad and one gathered the highest honor.
Blake Atwood was named the 2018-19 player of the year. The Mr. Basketball finalist averaged more than 27 points per game and nearly seven rebounds.
The Longhorns reached the sub-state round before losing to Knox Fulton.
Seniors Gavin Reece, Zach Eller and Troy Arnold all joined Atwood on the elite squad. Reece and Eller both averaged over 11 points per game while Arnold was the blue collar guy who did all the dirty work inside.
Johnson County’s Austin Atwood and Elizabethton’s Lucas Honeycutt shared coach of the year honors.
Taylor Cox was the lone Lady Longhorn to be chosen on the girls’ team.

Three-Rivers All-conference

Player of the Year
Blake Atwood, Johnson County
Underclassman of the Year
Parker Hughes, Elizabethton
Co-Coaches of the Year
Austin Atwood, Johnson County;
Lucas Honeycutt, Elizabethton

Gavin Reece, Johnson County
Zack Eller, Johnson County
Troy Arnold, Johnson County
Nico Ashley, Elizabethton
Dustin Bartley, Sullivan East
Chase Bowery, Sullivan South
Bryce Carter, Happy Valley
Ben Diamond, Sullivan South
Dayne Davis, Sullivan East
Adam Davison, Sullivan East
Cole Layne, Sullivan South
Evan Perkins, Elizabethton
Brock Thompson, Unicoi County
Ben Williams, Sullivan Central
Eric Wilson, Elizabethton

Player of the Year
Abbey Crawford, Sullivan Central
Newcomer of the Year
Riley Nelson, Sullivan East
Coach of the Year
Kristi Walling, Sullivan Central

Taylor Cox, Johnson County
Hayley Grubb, Sullivan East
Alex Harris, Sullivan South
Kaylee Hendrickson, Unicoi County
Adrienne Henegar, Happy Valley
Mollie Leslie, Sullivan South
Riley Nelson, Sullivan East
Chloe Power, Unicoi County
Peyton Sams, Sullivan Central
Kaylen Shell, Elizabethton
Shay Whitson, Happy Valley