Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Tennessee students lend their insight to issues facing public education

Johnson County Students
Johnson County representatives (left to right): Hazlee Kleine, Chase McGlamery and Renie Morrow. Photo courtesy of Johnson County Schools.

Students from Johnson County Schools joined approximately 350 of their high school peers in Murfreesboro on March 6 to express their views on public education in Tennessee at the Tennessee School Boards Association (TSBA) Student Congress on Policies in Education (SCOPE). The event took place on the Middle Tennessee State University campus.

Attending from Johnson County High School were: Hazlee Kleine, Chase McGlamery, and Renie Morrow).

Now in its 36th year, SCOPE is designed to give students a voice where public education issues are concerned and to involve young people in finding solutions to the topics that are discussed. Attendees participated in mock school board sessions, where they assumed the roles of school board members, school officials, parents, students and concerned citizens. The sessions were led by actual school board members, superintendents and educational leaders from across the state.

Students then chose speakers to represent each of their 16 small groups who went on to take part in full-scale debates on current education issues. This year’s four debate topics and results from the poll were:

1.Student information shall be shared without parent permission. (Agree: 53%, Disagree: 47%)
2.Corporal punishment shall be banned from all schools. (Agree: 47%, Disagree: 53%)
3.All students shall pass a civics exam to graduate (Agree: 69%, Disagree: 31%)
4.Cyberbullying shall be a zero-tolerance offense. (Agree: 17%, Disagree: 83%)

SCOPE delegates elected 2019 SCOPE officers and they are:
•President: Emily Morgan, Maryville High School, Maryville
•1st Vice President: Kevin Loo, Dobyns-Bennett High School, Kingsport
•2nd Vice President: Abhi Manda, Central Magnet School, Rutherford County

The Tennessee School Boards Association was organized in 1939 to provide a united voice in education for local public school boards. In 1953, the State Legislature officially recognized TSBA as the “organization and representative agency of the members of school boards in Tennessee.”

The Tennessee School Boards Association is a service organization to all the state’s school boards. It serves as an advocate for the interests of Tennessee’s public school students and school districts and provides in-service training and assistance for the state’s 945 board of education members.