Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Johnson County Retired Teachers Association donates to Doe Elementary

Retired teachers Doe
Treasurer Vida Bunting (left) and President Joann Stollenmaier (right) present a donation to Doe Elementary representative Laura Baird(center). Photo provided by Joann Stollenmaier.

By Meg Dickens
Staff Writer

Doe Elementary School received a recent blessing. The Johnson County Retired Teachers Association makes a $100 donation to a local school annually and this year was Doe’s turn. Doe Elementary Kindergarten teacher Laura Baird stood in as the speaker at the recent meeting for Principal Teresa Stansberry. Baird informed the group about programs and updates in the school. Johnson County Retired Teachers Association President Joann Stollenmaier called the presentation “very interesting” and stated that she “really enjoyed it.”

Doe put the money to good use. The staff invested the money in the children. “We used the $100.00 to reward students for their hard work in preparation for test review.  We provided our students with multiple activities during the last week of school,” Stansberry told The Tomahawk.  “These activities were geared toward “fun” and relaxation to celebrate a successful year.”

The Johnson County Teachers Association is a place for former teachers living in the Johnson County area to meet, learn, and help the community. Each meeting has a speaker who presents knowledge that retired folks might need to know. The group currently has active programs on the state level but still takes the time to enjoy local school programs.