Johnson County Schools will register Pre K, Head Start and Kindergarten students for the 2018 -2019 school year according to the following schedule:
The Kindergarten registration process is as simple as going to your school of zone and giving your information. But don’t forget to bring the necessary forms and paperwork.
The state laws governing kindergarten eligibility have changed, so please read the following carefully:To be eligible for kindergarten in 2018 – 2019, your child must be five years of age on or before August 15, 2018.
Children whose third birthday is on or before August 15, 2018 or fourth birthday is on or before August 15, 2018, and who meet income guidelines, are eligible for Head Start.
Children whose fourth birthday is on or before August 15, 2018, are eligible for Pre-K.
Children whose fifth birthday is on or before August 15, 2018, are eligible for kindergarten.
Parents of children with disabilities who will be 3 years of age during the 2018 – 2019 school year need to contact Karen Bishop at 727-2640 for registration information.
Parents need to bring the following items to the registration:
• child’s birth certificate (a certified copy, not a mother’s copy)
• child’s social security card
-record of recent physical and up-to-date immunization (shot) record.
Immunization forms have been re-named: Tennessee School Immunization Certificate (K- 12 students), and Tennessee Pre-School Immunization Certificate (ages five and under).
Children are required by Tennessee law to have the following immunizations before entering school for the first time:
• 3 doses Hepatitis B (Effective July 1, 2010 this will also be required for Head Start)
• 4 doses DPT – one of which was given on or after the fourth birthday. If age seven or older three doses are required.
• 1 dose Chicken Pox Vaccine (or documented case of disease) Head Start
• 1doses Chicken Pox Vaccine (or documented case of disease) Effective July 1, 2010 for children entering Kindergarten, 7th grade, or new enrollees in a TN school.
• 4 doses Polio Vaccine
• 2 doses MMR – one dose must be given on or after the first birthday.A second dose of MMR is required for entrance into grades K, 4, 8, and 12
• 1 dose MMR – (Head Start)
• 2 doses Hepatitis A (doses must be 6 months apart) (required for Kindergarten entry effective July 1, 2011)
• 1 dose Hepatitis A – (Effective July 1, 2010 required for Head Start entry)Pneumococcal conjugate vaccine (PCV)- (Effective July 1, 2010 required for Head Start entry under 5 years of age)
• Tdap Booster- (Effective October 1, 2010 for 7th grade)-Anyone registering a child for Head Start or Pre-K should bring proof of income (copy of check stubs, W-2 forms, AFDC eligibility form, etc.) to registration.
Parents are encouraged to have all requirements completed for registration. HOWEVER, THEY SHOULD STILL REGISTER THEIR CHILDREN EVEN IF THEY ARE LACKING SOMETHING AT THE TIME OF REGISTRATION. This will provide an early, accurate count so schools can be well prepared and adequately staffed to meet the needs of the children of our county. Any parent who has a child entering kindergarten next year and cannot attend registration should call the appropriate school.
If the child is entering Head Start, and the parent cannot attend registration on the scheduled date, the parent should call 727-2640 and speak with Lorie Plank, Karen Bishop, or Shelia Billings. If parents have questions regarding the registration process, they may call the appropriate school or the Board of Education Office at the above number and speak with Ruth Ann Osborne.