Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Farm Service county committee nominations due August 1

Nominations for candidates to run for the Johnson County Farm Service Agency committee election representing producers in Local Administrative Area 3 which includes the communities of Doe Valley, Butler and Shady Valley will be accepted through August 1, 2016.  Producers who are eligible to vote in LAA –3 and who participate or cooperate in an FSA program and are of legal voting age may be nominated to serve on the county committee. Individuals may nominate themselves or others as candidates. Also, organizations representing socially disadvantaged minorities and women farmers may also nominate candidates.

The county committee system, effective since 1936, affords producers the opportunity to elect representatives who, in turn, administer federal farm programs at the local level; thereby providing producers with a voice in farm program implementation.

All farmers are strongly encouraged to participate in the County Committee nomination and election process.   Remember, you can nominate yourself or another eligible individual to serve on the County Committee.

More information on the committee election, including nomination forms, is available at the Johnson County FSA office at 119 S Murphey Street, Mountain City, TN or online at: